Mango Lassi

I was invited to an Indian food potluck. I really enjoy Indian food, and don’t cook as much of it as I like. Unfortunately due to this halfway moved situation I don’t have my Indian cookbook or any of my spices, all of them currently residing in Ohio. Although I wouldn’t mind buying some for my aunt, she doesn’t cook much and would probably never make Indian food, so the spices would go to waste. Enter my friend Rachel. She suggested I veer off the Indian course and make something like Thai Iced tea (a drink we both LOVE). That made me think of what drink I usually order when I go to an Indian restaurants- Mango Lassi! It’s creamy, smooth and refreshing, the perfect drink to make on a hot summer August night!

IMG_0268

The ingredient list is simple. Four ingredients, mango puree, plain yogurt, milk and sugar. Many of the recipes I found online called for actual fresh mango, but I remember the recipe in my cookbook used mango puree.This was the hardest ingredient to find. Luckily this wasn’t the first time I’d thought to make this so I knew I wouldn’t be able to find it at the regular grocery store. I swung by the Indian grocery store where I’d seen cans before.

IMG_0269IMG_0270IMG_0271

I picked up three cans, not sure how much I would be making. I was also surprised to see there was sugar already in the puree, I figured I might need to modify the amount I used in the recipe as a result.

The recipe I chose to modify was from the food network. I figured the important part was the 2:1:1 ratio of yogurt:milk:mango was the most important part. And for me working with cups (or halves) is easier so I decided to round down to 1 cup yogurt to 1/2 cup each milk and mango puree. I made a double batch (since that’s what my blender would hold).

IMG_0272IMG_0273

After blending the Lassi I tasted it and decided it wasn’t very sweet. I then added 1 Tablespoon of sugar and blended again. I thought that was a sufficient amount of sugar, although more could be added to taste. A simple recipe, measure and blend.

IMG_0275

Deliciousness!

The Indian Party was tons of fun. Good friends, good food, what could be better? And with the exception of my Mango Lassi everything else was vegan. And I have to say the fake chicken (which is still weird to me to have grill marks) was fairly tasty, perhaps Dan would be more willing to eat it than tofu? I’m sure that’ll show up in a later post 🙂 As for the Lassi I think it would also be good blended with some ice, for a much cooler refreshing drink. I also think it would be good poured into Popsicle molds and frozen. With the milk and yogurt it might be creamy like ice cream.

IMG_0276

Mango Lassi

1 cup Plain Yogurt

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup Mango Puree

1 1/2 teaspoon Sugar

Blend all Ingredients and serve immediately or after chilled.

Leave a Reply

